Hudson River Drinking Water Intermunicipal Council

Town of Esopus, Town of Hyde Park, Town of Lloyd, City of Poughkeepsie, Town of Poughkeepsie, Town of Rhinebeck, Village of Rhinebeck

August 3, 2023

The Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 1222

re: Urging Governor Kathy Hochul to sign "Save the Hudson" Legislation

Dear Governor Hochul,

The Hudson River Drinking Water Intermunicipal Council (Hudson 7) urges you to sign the "Save the Hudson" legislation that passed through both chambers of the New York Legislature, and that would protect the Hudson River from any discharges of radioactive materials from Indian Point.

The Hudson 7 represents seven municipalities that draw drinking water from the Hudson River to serve over 100,000 people in Ulster and Dutchess counties. We support efforts to reduce pollution to the Hudson River that can negatively impact drinking water supplies.

Holtec International, the company decommissioning the Indian Point nuclear power plant, has stated its intention to release water from onsite radioactive fuel waste pools into the Hudson River in September. As stewards of the Hudson River as a drinking water supply, the Hudson 7 are concerned about any pollution into the river. Although the nearest Hudson 7 drinking water intake is about 35 miles upstream from Indian Point, and data indicates that the releases won't impact our intakes, the Hudson 7 is opposed to anything being dumped into the river that could possibly contaminate drinking water supplies. We urge you to put the health and safety of New Yorkers first by supporting this important legislation.

Sincerely,

Agramatical States of the Control of

Chair, Hudson River Drinking Water Intermunicipal Council

Mayor, Village of Rhinebeck

cc:

Hon. Kirsten Gillibrand, US Senator for NYS

Hon. Chuck Schumer, US Senator for NYS

Hon. Pat Ryan, Congressman

Hon. Marc Molinaro, Congressman

Hon. Didi Barrett, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Anil Beephan, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Sarahana Shrestha, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Jonathan Jacobson, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Chris Tague, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Jonathan G. Jacobson, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Kieran Michael Lawlor, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Dana Levenberg, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Michelle Hinchey, NYS Senator

Hon. Rob Rolison, NYS Senator

Hon. James Skoufis, NYS Senator

Hon. Pete Harckham, NYS Senator

Basil Seggos, Commissioner, NYSDEC

Region 3 District Director Kelly Turturro, NYSDEC